barrenchemist
Life. One day at a time.

ICLW Question

We had our Christmas this weekend and have 4300 pounds of leftover ham. (That may be an exaggeration.) What are some recipes and ideas to use the leftovers?

10 Responses to “ICLW Question”

  1. i made a ham and cheese quiche. yummy and doesn’t have and overpowering ham-taste. try out allrecipes.com. you can search by ingredient. i would also make ham and split pea soup.

  2. Oh man, normally I would be a tremendous help in this category because I LOVE cooking and turning left overs in to other dishes, but I happen to despise Ham. So sorry.

    Thank you for your comment on my blog, and to answer your question: yes the time off made a HUGE difference in my overall mental health, as well as my marriage. I should also mention that we spent about 10 months in therapy. Which was fantastic, because after we spent several weeks sorting through the wreckage from infertility, we were able to address some fundamental issues that ultimately made our marriage infinitely stronger. In summation: Therapy is the bawm.

    May the new year bring all things possible.

  3. Mini ham muffiins… egg, ham, green onions, cheese mixed up and put into muffin tins and baked. Yum!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Toss some in the crock pot with potatoes and onions and green beans! It will be great!

    Thanks for stopping by bio girl! I love finding another science gal!

    ICLW #8

  5. I second the suggestion for ham quiche.

    I am also looking for women living childfree after infertility to write a couple paragraphs about their experience for possible inclusion in Our Bodies, Ourselves’ new book The quotes they choose all remain anonymous. Any interest? If so, please email me within the next week at mrsspock9@gmail.com.

  6. Ham, huh? That is one of the few foods I can do without. It all goes back to a traumatic experience at the butcher when I was about 8 years old. However, if I had any on hand, I would make a Kale Cannellini bean soup and put some ham in to give it more flavor. I’d probably add it in the beginning with the vegetables so it really tastes yummy. Good luck!

    http://mydustyuterus.blogspot.com/

    Happy ICLW!

    http://mydustyuterus.blogspot.com/

  7. Split Pea and Ham Soup!!

    * 1 tbsp olive oil
    * 1/2 onion, diced
    * 2 cloves of garlic, minced
    * 1-2 carrots, diced
    * 1-2 stalks of celery, diced
    * 1 large russet potato, peeled and diced
    * 1 lb ham steak, diced
    * 7-8 cups of chicken stock or vegetable stock
    * 1 1lb bag of dried split peas (rinsed)
    * 1 bay leaf Salt and pepper to taste

    Heat olive oil in a dutch oven pot over medium heat. Cook the onion until slightly tender. Add garlic and ham & cook for 60 seconds. Add the stock, split peas, bay leaf to pot and salt and pepper to taste. Cook over medium low heat for 1 1/2 – 2 hours. Add the carrots, celery and potatoes then cook for an additional 30-45 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Remove bay leaf. If you want it to be a bit thicker, mix with an immersion blender for a few seconds.

    Happy Holidays and Happy ICLW
    #50

  8. 4300 pounds of leftover ham…how many ham sandwiches does that translate in to? I’m no chef so I’m all about slapping it between some bread with a bit of mustard and calling it good.

    Thx for stopping by my blog and I will definitely be back to beg chem help from you! I did conservation biology and then a bit of wildlife reproductive biology (ironic that I ended up with IF issues). Now I’m going back to get high school teaching qualifications but I need one more first-level chemistry class. *shudders*

  9. Got no ham recommendations (Jewish), but I will wish you a very Merry Christmas!

    ~Jem (ICLW #5)

  10. We’re big green bean casserole fans in my house (in fact it’s one of the only veggies my hubby will eat) so we always use leftover ham in it to make it into an entree’. It’s so very yummy and the leftovers are good the next day too! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that 2011 brings many good things your way! Lots of luck and love from ICLW #110!


Leave a Reply

